The main reason I try to code in Haskell with the {-# LANGUAGE Safe #-} pragma turned on:

07:45 I really miss the experimentation and the
07:49 ideas that come about from being
07:51 restricted I often find that it's
07:54 something that is true in my own
07:55 creative process as well when I restrict
07:58 myself in some arbitrary way I end up
08:01 having to come up with creative results
08:03 you know creative solutions to make it
08:06 something that's actually interesting as
08:08 opposed to just you know all you have
08:09 all the unlimited resources in the world
08:11 you can just come up with anything if
08:13 you can't do that there's something that
08:15 just triggers in the creative process
Lazy Game Reviews (LGR) at The 8-Bit Guys video (for source, see References below)

Quote of the day (Simon Marlow):

“For typical Haskell programmers, using {-# LANGUAGE Safe #-} will be like -Wall: something that is considered good practice from a hygiene point of view. If you don’t need access to unsafe features, then it’s better to write in the safe subset, where you have stronger guarantees. Just like -Wall, you get to choose whether to use {-# LANGUAGE Safe #-} or not.”

References: